A day at the races

by vipgal

Thanks to my friend Jess, I am now staring at a bunch of images of dresses you can wear to the spring racing carnival instead of my university assignments (which are in an urgent need of attention). Not that I’m putting the blame on you Jess for my lack of motivation but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out which option I will choose if I had to chose between fashion blogging… and homework

 So.. we’ve all heard of the smock, big print, loud coloured and short hemlined trend going on for the 2008 spring racing carnival. The smock is definitely a popular choice this year but this style does look best on thin and long legs (what an enviable combination).

Putting the trend craze aside, thankfully and always, there are other alternatives to looking good for the races. In my opinion dresses reserved for classy events should be no shorter than just above the knee. The smock is very versatile and can be altered to adapt to special events but I think it is best left for the beach or to wear as a casual item

In the film ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ a quote I remember the character played by Meryl Streep saying in a sarcastic tone is “florals in spring, groundbreaking”

It just goes on to show thinking on the other side of the status quo. I could have gone with the flow and written an extravagently convincing post about why you should wear smocks, loud fuchsias and short hemlines to the spring racing carnival. But after establishing that the smock is the status quo item this year I would also like to offer the option of which will probably be less taken

Make up your own mind about what to wear to the races be it the full length, smock or two piece or your grandma’s graduation dress.

Wear whatever makes YOU feel good in, drink champagne in the company of great people, gambling is not a good trait 😉

Enjoy the races!

